Wedding Report – The Proposal

Despite only having been together a year and three months by the time Dan proposed, we’d actually spoken about marriage in the very early stages of our relationship. I think to both of us it became very apparent early on that this was more than just a rebound relationship and we were in it for the long haul.

Dan proposed while we were on holiday in Cornwall in July 2011 at Kynance Cove. The day started off as normal; Dan had planned the activities for the entire week because when we booked the holiday, I was in the midst of my final year at university and battling the old dissertation. He told me we were going to the beach for the day, so I just popped on a summer dress and flip flops. However this wasn’t your average beach. The beach in question was at the bottom of a cliff, which you could only access by climbing down some rock steps; not great when you’re only wearing flip flops and the steps were really slippery after it had rained over night.

I should also add that the journey to the beach was over 2 hours from where we were staying, down what seemed like hundreds of winding country roads, and I felt horribly car sick. Needless to say, I wasn’t exactly all smiles when we got there because of this!!

Once we’d navigated our way down to the beach, we popped into the cafe, and had a cup of tea and a chocolate fudge brownie, and then decided to head back to the car. On the way back up the cliff, we stopped off at a cliff seat to take some photos of the view, and that’s when the big question was asked!!

I don’t remember very much of it as I was still feeling very queasy and it was all a bit of a blur. But one moment I was taking photos and the next I was staring at a ring on my finger!!

We finished off the day with a Chinese takeaway and a sip of champagne in our holiday cottage. Dan then fell asleep in front of the TV while I was reading my first (official) wedding magazine.

We were engaged!!

One thought on “Wedding Report – The Proposal

Leave a Reply

