The bouquet dilemma

I LOVE my wedding bouquet. I can’t even describe how lovely it is. My florist, Penny, from Penny Jane Flowers in Leigh-on-sea, Essex, made me EXACTLY what I wanted.

I had two inspiration photos which I showed her and basically said ‘imagine you’re walking through a woodland and you just grab a load of flowers and greenery and tie it together – that’s what I want’.

And she made me a much prettier version of that, including pinecones that I collected from the Nature Reserve where I work, and where my husband and I met!

Now I have the age old dilemma of ‘what to do with it’. It is far too lovely to put in the recycling bin, I don’t have any long-gone relatives with headstones to place it by, and I’m not really a massive fan of framed bouquets.

So what I have decided to do, is dry it out and when the roses die, I’ll replace them with foam roses. The greenery in my bouquet should last a pretty long time as will the pinecones, and so I should have a relatively accurate replica of my original fresh bouquet that’ll keep for years!

I checked out a load of tutorials online including this one from SuperNova Bride to help me along the way, and the general consensus is to hang it upside down somewhere with a regular temperature (i.e. not next to a radiator) and leave it for weeks (usually about 8 weeks!) until its all dried out.

So that’s what I’ve done!

I will update you all once I’ve reached the next stage…

Leave a Reply

