Real bride-to-be: Sarah

20131111-151700.jpg

Your name… Sarah Jayne

Partner’s name… John

Your ages…We will be 25 and 32 when we get married.

How did you meet…

Well I was actually meant to be going on a date with one of his friends who stood me up. I had seen John with this guy before he stood me up. The next time I saw John (I was a little drunk) and I went over to tell him what an arse his friend was! The rest is history!

Engagement story…

In February 2013 John booked a weekend away at a log cabin in Derbyshire with Poppy our Pug. It was meant to be a nice little getaway and to celebrate some accountancy exam results I had got. I did wonder if this was going to be the weekend it would happen but as it got to Sunday afternoon I thought he isn’t going to do it now! We went out for tea that evening to a lovely steakhouse and when we returned to the cabin John was really jittery and wouldn’t stop wandering about the cabin it was like he ants in his pants! Then it happened, I was sitting at the dining table moaning I didn’t want to go home tomorrow and he walked over to me and I saw the bulge in his pocket. He then got down on one knee took the box from his pocket and asked me to marry him. I don’t think I have ever heard him speak so quickly he was so nervous bless him. Even though I had wondered if it would happen it still took me by surprise and took me a few moments to actually say yes!

Wedding date… Friday 20th June 2014

Wedding venue… Ceremony will take place in the Banqueting Hall of Skipton Castle.

Reception venue… Marquee reception on John’s family farm in Skipton

Wedding party…

Our Maid of Honour is my best friend Charlotte who I have known for 20 years; we went to nursery together. I also have two other adult Bridesmaids; my friend Kerrie and my sister Emma. We also have a Junior Bridesmaid called Aimee; she will be 10 and she is my cousin and goddaughter. We have two Flowergirls; Isabella and Abigail (3 and 1) they are John’s Best Friend’s little girls. We also have two Best Men as John couldn’t decide and so picked both; his brother Tom and his best friend from Uni, Nick. We also have one Usher; Richard – another friend of John’s.

Colour scheme/theme…

Our theme is ‘Country Pub’ which means a lot of chalkboards! The invitations will look like chalkboards, the table plan will be on a large chalkboard and the table names are also chalkboards on easels and will be named after local pubs, all the artwork on these is being done by a friend. We have engraved shot glasses for favours and wine bottles with candles in them for centrepieces. The cake table won’t be a table as such, the cake will be placed on an old whisky barrel. The food is also in keeping with the theme we are having canapes instead of a starter and these are mini versions of pub classics like yorkshire pudding, soup shots, mini jackets and mini fish and chips. The main will then be a large sharer steak and ale pie for the table to share. There will be an underlying colour of pale mint green but the wedding focuses more on the theme rather than the colour. This green will be reflected in the Bridesmaid dresses, sweet table, mens cravats etc.

 How did you decide on your colour scheme/theme…

 John is landlord of a pub, so this industry is his life and it just suited us to a tee. The colours, I found Bridesmaid dresses I really liked in this colour just need to order them now!

Describe your wedding in 10 words…
Planning = challenging! Family, friends, rustic, romantic, pub, detailed.   

How much planning have you done so far…

Nearly everything is planned! I bought my dress back in May and still waiting for it to arrive in the shop it is due in Dec/Jan! We still need to get the bridesmaid dresses and finish designing the invitations.

Next thing to tick off the ‘to-do’ list…

 Definitely the invitations they will be going out end of January!

Leave a Reply

