Real Weddings: purple, thunderstorms and a happily ever after.

20131020-203839.jpg

Name… Emma

Fiance’s name… Paul

Your ages… 29 and 38

How did you meet…

We met through a friend I met at university. I had recently come out of a long term relationship which ended badly and so my friend Ian felt I needed cheering up and so took me to MFN (a car meet) and introduced me to his friends. Paul was one of them. We then went to another car show and stayed in an awful hotel after this Paul and I realised we wanted to be together.

Engagement story…

Paul proposed a few days before my birthday in our living room with a gorgeous ring he chose himself; it was nothing over the top,  just us and a ring!

Wedding Date… 27th July 2013

Wedding venue… Tutbury Castle, Staffordshire

Reception venue…The National Brewery Centre, Burton-on-Trent

Wedding party…

We had three adult bridemaids; Stacey, Amy and Kerry, two Flowergirls; Jorja and Ivi and a Pageboy; Theo. We also had six Ushers; Ant, Matt, Phill, Rich, James and Stu.

Colour scheme/theme… Purple, navy,
buttons, Shrek with vintage styling.

20131020-203850.jpg

How did you decide on your colour scheme/theme?

We picked purple as it a colour we both like and then looked at what it would compliment it. Having the reception is a brewery shaped some of our decoration including beer bottles for centrepieces and beer mat save the dates. We also included things that were ‘us’ such as cars, sweets and Shrek. The first gift Paul brought me was Puss in Boots from Shrek. Our little girl always says that we are Shrek and Fiona and she is Donkey so we had Shrek cake toppers! I also hand made lots of our decorations.

Describe your wedding in 10 words…
perfect, Shrek, killer heels, thunderstorm, cake, buttons, happily ever after.

The Bride’s outfit…

I had two dresses as the dress I got married in was huge! It was the biggest dress in the shop and my mum and Aunt were convinced it would be horrible but ended up loving it and so did I. I tried on others but nothing compared. It was a huge princess style dress with lots of sparkle. I also wore a simple tiara and borrowed a veil from my best friend and maid of honour. I teamed my dress with high heels from Iron fist that had skulls and roses on to match our cake!!! I changed into my second dress for our first dance. It was a shorter version of my first dress. The weather was so nice and hot  in the day that I was grateful to be able to change into something more lightweight.

20131020-203901.jpg20131020-203911.jpg

The boys…

The dads, our bestman  and the Groom got their suits from Greenwoods. The Ushers wore suits they already owned and we provided their ties to match our colour scheme.

20131020-203923.jpg

Bridesmaid dresses…

I started off with two bridesmaids and a flower girl but during the months leading up to our big day we adopted an extra one of each!! We had a bit of a Bridesmaid dress disaster three weeks before the wedding; the original dresses I bought for two of my Bridesmaids no longer fitted and so it was a mad rush to find replacement dresses! All three maids ended up in different style dresses all purchased from Coast, but on the day they looked like it had been planned as they complimented each other so well!

Entertainment and professional services…

Our photographer was Peacock Obscura and he was absolutely fantastic. He spent over 12 hours with us on the day and captured everything perfectly. He also took some quite unusual shots which we will treasure forever.

My friend was on hand to do the makeup,  our nails and to give up light tans to give our skin a glow. She has recently set up her own shop and made me feel so relaxed. I never wear make up and she put me completely at ease and made us all look lovely!

20131020-203936.jpg

20131020-203948.jpg

DIY projects…

I made lots for our wedding including all the table decorations for the day and evening reception, the Order of Services plus tissue and confetti envelopes which were placed with the Order of Service leaflets on the chairs for our guests. We also made activity bags and eye-spy sheets for the kids to keep them entertained. We also made signs for our photobooth, and we handmade buttonholes for all the men in the wedding party and the button bouquets for myself and the bridesmaids which I like to think were really unusual but gorgeous! AND we made the table plan, placecards and favours!!

Favourite memory from your day…

My favourite during our whole wedding day was when Paul and I were standing on the court steps having our photo taken whilst cars went past waving at us! As well as sending us good wishes, they were probably also wondering why we were outside in the thunder and lightning!!

If you could change one thing…

It would definitely be to practise the first dance! We didn’t decide what we were dancing to till the afternoon before the wedding and that left us with no time to have a little practice!

Best place to buy wedding items…

Definitely eBay!! We bought LOTS from there and got some real bargains!!

Your best tip for other Brides…

Don’t worry about the small things! I got to our ceremony and was told that our CD of music that we’d prepared in advance wouldn’t work so I walked down the aisle to a wedding music CD which threw my plans a little! Our cake also collapsed due to the heat but it still tasted gorgeous which was the main thing!!

20131020-203958.jpg

One thought on “Real Weddings: purple, thunderstorms and a happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

