Real Weddings: Vintage,1950s style and Navy & Gold..

Name: Lauren

Fiance’s name: Craig

Your ages: Both 22

How did you meet…

Craig and I went to school together & then worked together for 3 years at our previous job. We started as friends, became inseparable best friends – everyone assumed we were an item, eventually we gave in to the fact that we liked each other more than friends!

Engagement story…

A couple that we spent a lot of time around were planning their wedding; therefore we used to go along to a lot of wedding fares & shows with them. We found ourselves planning our own wedding, without even realising it! We agreed that we both wanted to get married, and that we would make decisions equally – which we did! One day, we went to the open evening at our friends venue with them, it was also a work colleague’s birthday party that night. As we went home to get ready , I was sat on the side of our bed, putting my make up on – and Craig walked round & sat in front of me. He reached in his pocket, and pulled out a little box and said ‘I want you to have this’ – possibly not the most ‘Fairytale’ proposal, but perfect!

Wedding date: 9th August 2013

Wedding venue: Rutland Square Hotel, Nottingham

Reception venue: Rutland Square Hotel, Nottingham

20130928-202736.jpgWedding party…

We had six people in our wedding party other than outselves! We had two Bridesmaids; Abbie & Becs, one Best Man; Simon, one Usher; Martin, one Flowergirl; Ruby and one Page Boy; James.

Colour scheme/theme… Navy & Gold, Vintage/1950s

How did you decide on your colour scheme/theme…

We originally chose pink & grey, but it made Craig look washed out. But then my Auntie reminded me that she had a set of navy & gold waistcoats and cravats that were bespoke and handmade for her wedding 10 years ago still in the cupboard. They had been kept in pristine condition and my other Auntie is a seamstress so she offered to tailor them to fit our guys. So the decision was made

Describe your wedding in 10 words… It was fun, seamless, emotional, sunny, and timeless. Best day ever!

The Bride’s outfit…

I went browsing for wedding dresses with my friend firstly. Our first trip was to a certain well known bridal shop in Nottingham; however it was like that scene from Pretty Woman! It wasn’t a great experience as I wasn’t allowed to try on any dresses as Craig and I hadn’t secured our venue at that time. We then went to Mia Sposa Nottingham, to be greeted by the manager Nicola & the girls at the shop.  They were AMAZING from start to finish!! I was looked after by Angela who was lovely and I have since met several ladies that have had the same experience as me. I’d advise anyone to go straight to Mia Sposa!  I chose the 3rd dress I tried on and put a deposit down immediately. I chose a Justin Alexander dres; no. 8555 (Audrey). Its not at all the dress I imagined myself in, but being 5ft1” & a size 20, I looked like a ball of fluff in my dream princess dresses. However when I saw this beauty on the mannequin, I knew it had to be mine! Luckily being short, this tea length dress was floor skimming on me, so I didn’t really loose out on the ‘Princess’ idea! It cost £1,218, so much more than I anticipated but I paid monthly and only needed a £100 deposit to secure my dress dress. I also got a special offer of £100 worth of free accessories with my dress – this paid for my beautiful pear & diamante tiara. I didn’t have a veil as the dress had so much detail front and back I didn’t need it, and I didn’t want to distract away from the gorgeous detailing. I wore ivory kitten heel shoes, with a diamante bow on the toes which were ‘Ruby’ by Rainbow Club

The boys…

We also hired the navy tail suits & shirts from Mia Sposa as the service was that great. They were really affordable at £62 each (including damage insurance) and I think you’ll agree the boys looked VERY smart!

dad pics

20130928-202716.jpg

Bridesmaid dresses…

Our Bridesmaid dresses were also from Mia Sposa. They cost £199 each; I gave my girls the choice of buying them off me if they wanted to keep them, or give them back for me to sell on to recoup some money. The dresses are beautiful floor length champagne gold dresses. The girls loved them and loved themselves in them which was really important to me! Mia Sposa made it really easy to pay for the dresses as I was able to add them to the invoice for my dress and suits and pay monthly.

Photography…

Our photographer was Kev Matthews Photography. Kev and his wife Kate are both professional photographers that have their own home studio and office. They are a lovely, friendly couple that went out of their way to please us during the planning. They were recommended by our venue and on the day they exceeded our expectations & were amazing.They arrived proptly at 9am and Kev took the boys out for fun photographs, whilst Kate stayed with me to photograph us girls getting ready. During the beginning of the evening reception they showed a slideshow of selected shots through the day; they were beautiful! Kev and Kate stayed until 9pm, constantly taking photos of everything; I would recommend them to anyone!!!

Videography…

My cousin works for Bang! Film productions, so her and her manager filmed our day as a favour. We have not yet seen this footage as it isn’t quite ready.

DJ…

Our DJ was Nigel from XTC Discos. He was great; he played a fab stream of music and included lots of the songs from the long list of our favourite artists. We love 70s, 80s, and 90s music plus most mainstream stuff so it was fairly easy to put a mixed genre list together.

Makeup…

I had my makeup done by a girl that works for Bobbi Brown; she was fantastic! It took her an hour to apply my makeup and it didn’t budge at all from the moment it was put on! I spent a fortune on Bobbi Brown products but it was worth it as they’re amazing!

Cake…

Adele from April Delights did our Cake, topper, ALL the flowers and centre pieces, plus cake pop favours with name tags to double up as place names! This woman is just such a talent, she is amazing!

DIY projects (if any): None –  I am pants at this kind of stuff!

Favourite memory from your day…

There’s so many amazing memories I could choose from, but if I could only choose one, it’d be the period of time after the photos where we had 10 minutes to nip to our room to freshen up to get ready for dinner. It was so nice to just have a bit of time to ourselves! We had a quick loo break and then stood holding hands looking out of the floor length window which overlooks the city – absolute perfection!

20130928-202727.jpg

20130928-202706.jpg

If you could change one thing…

I think we would of liked our venue to all be on one level with no stairs, as some of our guests struggled to move between levels, and also those who smoked or who wanted fresh air were quite far away from us and the party, so a veranda would have been lovely. One massive plus side of our venue was being local to Nottingham Castle where we could pose for photos and Gary; the man who coordinated our day; he is a legend!

Best place to buy wedding items…

eBay,  Oh So Cherished are great. I also advise reading as many blogs, forums, groups as you can – other brides can be amazingly helpful!

Your best tip for other Brides…

Try not to impulse buy; I am now stuck with a load of stuff that I never used. Also RELAX; do not take all the strain yourself. Friends and family will pull through and do you proud. And remember, its YOUR day, ENJOY IT!

Leave a Reply

