DIY Project: glittery jam jars

I’ve got the hugest collection of clear glass jars and a mixture of different colour glass bottles sitting in one of our spare rooms at the moment. And the more I look at them, the more I’ve been wanting to do something to them!!

I’ve decorated some of my glass jars already with white, cream and champagne coloured ribbons to try and balance out some of the rustic-ness of our decoration with something a bit more elegant and bridal. But it was missing something. And that something was glitter.

So I decided to give glittering some glass jars a go! And it’s worked quite nicely!

20131002-114252.jpg

I’d bought some gold glitter paint specifically to paint my Mr & Mrs letters, but seeing as I had enough left over I decided to have a go at glittering some jam jars using the same stuff! All I did was squirt some of the paint into the jar and twist it round until it had covered the entire surface of the inside of the jar.  3/4 of the bottle is enough to glitter about 15 small-medium sized jars (the size you’d get jam or preserves in) and you’d probably get 20-25 jars done with a full bottle, which isn’t too bad considering the bottle is only £1.49! You could probably get the same effect using glitter particles and mixing it with PVA glue.

I will point out that I’m NOT using the jars for tea lights as I’m not sure whether the paint is flammable or not and the last thing I want is to create mini fires on my wedding day! So I’ll be using mine as part of pinecones or flower displays. However, if you did want to use them for tealights, you could put battery operated ones in instead!

Got to love a bit of glitter!!

Leave a Reply

