Real Bride-to-be: Laura D

I’m very excited to share with you the lovely Laura’s plans with you all as she, like me, is a winter Bride…

20130826-144934.jpg

Name: Laura D

Fiance’s name: Martin

Your ages: 27 and 28

How did you meet…

We met in our local salsa class, the first time I stayed for the more advanced lesson, the lesson ended at 10 and we were still dancing at nearly midnight!

Engagement story…

After watching the new Bond movie, we decided to stay with our friends from County Durham an extra night so we went to buy ingredients to cook for them to say thank you.  The city centre was blanketed in thick fog and Martin wanted to go and see the cathederal as he’d never seen it in fog like this before.  So we walked up and took some photos of it in the square.  We were hugging and kissing and then he just said “Laura, will you marry me?”  Now I should point out that less than a week before he asked me if I wanted to get married the following year but said that that didn’t count as a proposal so I said “are you serious this time” and when he said that he was I said “you already know my answer, of course I will!”

Wedding date: 16th November 2013

Wedding and reception venue: Shrigley Hall

 

Wedding party…

We have a very intimate wedding party; Glen and Karen are the parents of my fiancé and Terry and Tracy are my parents. Abbie Downing is my Maid of Honour and Mark Atkinson is our Best Man.

Colour scheme/theme… Royal blue and white with a bit of silver

How did you decide on your colour scheme/theme?

Martin chose his favourite colour – it matches the sapphire in my engagement ring so I’m happy!  We have put a little hint of salsa in there (our table names, some music) as a nod to how we met.

Describe your wedding in 10 words… Traditional, Grand, Unusual, One Hell of a Party, Lovey-Dovey, Sweet, Pretty

How much planning have you done so far?

Everything but the favours has been bought.  I’m saving making the Order of the Day until we have finalised readings. The dresses are all at my mum’s house and we’ve sorted the 2 first dances, most of the seating plan and set up a gift list. We’ve  also got a good idea of what we want the venue dressers to do and we’ve been to the final details meeting at our venue and checked that the venue will be providing a table plan, menus, table names and seat names. The childrens’ favours have been bought and presents for the bridesmaids are nearly all bought and put into gift bags. We’ve also had our engagement photoshoot and almost all of the men have tried on their suits, which have been paid for! We’ve been VERY busy!!!

Next thing to tick off the ‘to-do’ list…

Meetings with the venue dresser, cake maker and a final meeting with the venue.  Put the gift list live on our wedding website, buy the groomsmen’s thank you presents and write all thank you cards. Print the tag that explains our favours and tie it to them with ribbon, print and make up the Order of the Day and we’re done!!!

Check back towards to end of the year to read Laura’s follow up post and sneak peeks of her big day..

Leave a Reply

